## **N.H.** Lakes Management Advisory Committee

N.H. Lakes Management and Protection Program

29 Hazen Drive; PO Box 95; Concord, NH 03302-0095; Tel: 603-271-8811
https://www.lmac.des.nh.gov/

January 26, 2023

The Honorable Kenneth Weyler, Chair House Finance Committee Legislative Office Building, Room 210 Concord, NH 03301

RE: HB 311 - AN ACT making an appropriation to the department of environmental services for eligible wastewater projects.

Dear Chair Weyler and Members of the Committee:

The Lakes Management Advisory Committee (LMAC) is writing to express its **support of House Bill 311**, which appropriates money for eligible wastewater projects. Appropriately funding wastewater treatment projects protects the public health and water quality. These in turn protect the monetary value of waterfront property and the utility of our rivers and lakes for recreation and as drinking water sources.

The LMAC is a legislatively created body charged to work with the New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services (NHDES) to administer RSA 483-A, the Lakes Management and Protection Program. The Governor and Council appointed Committee is comprised of 19 members representing academia, business, conservation organizations, lake associations, tourism, fish and game commission, marine trades, realtors, municipal government as well as several state agencies.

In conclusion, the LMAC supports HB 311 for the reasons stated above. Thank you for the opportunity to comment. Should you have questions, please feel free to contact me at (603) 366-5531 or <a href="mailto:jared@cruisenh.com">jared@cruisenh.com</a>.

Respectfully,

Jared Maraio, Chair

ec: Representatives Buco, Leishman, Emerick, N. Murphy, and Preece

Senators Bradley and Ricciardi

**LMAC** Representatives

Robert R. Scott, Commissioner, NHDES

**LMAC VOTING MEMBERS:** Jared Maraio, Chair, NH Travel Council • Shane Bradt, Scientific Community • Ryan Cardella, Marine Trades
Association • Tiffany Grade, Conservation Community • Sara Holland, NH Association of Realtors • Janet Kidder, Planning Boards • Frank
Lemay, NH Business & Industry Assoc. • Andrea LaMoreaux, NH LAKES • Lisa Morin, State Conservation Committee • Susan Price, NH Fish
& Game Commission • Dick Smith, Fishing Interests • Meredith Smith, Municipal Official • Steve Wingate, Conservation Commissions

LMAC Non-Voting Members: Garret Graaskamp, Vice Chair, NH Fish & Game Dept. • Capt. Tim Dunleavy, NH Dept. of Safety • Eric Feldbaum, NH Dept. of Natural and Cultural Resources • Jennifer Gilbert, NH Dept. of Business and Economic Affairs • Mark Hemmerlein, NH Dept. of Trans. • Shawn Jasper, NH Dept. of Ag, Markets & Food